Showing posts with label Review by Jennifer. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review by Jennifer. Show all posts

Monday, September 10, 2018

Review: The Last Wolf

The Last Wolf by Maria Vale
The Legend of all Wolves Book 1
Published February 6, 2018 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Reviewed by Jennifer
4 Howls

Synopsis:

For three days out of thirty, when the moon is full and her law is iron, the Great North Pack must be wild. 

If she returns to her Pack, the stranger will die. 
But if she stays…

Silver Nilsdottir is at the bottom of her Pack’s social order, with little chance for a decent mate and a better life. Until the day a stranger stumbles into their territory, wounded and beaten, and Silver decides to risk everything on Tiberius Leveraux. But Tiberius isn’t all he seems, and in the fragile balance of the Pack and wild, he may tip the destiny of all wolves…


The Last Wolf (The Legend of All Wolves, #1)The Last Wolf by Maria Vale
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a good book, well written, great world building and well developed characters. You get an understanding of the hierarchy of these wolves and what it means to be a lone wolf.

How will this end for our Last Wolf?
Read it to see!

(I received for free from the publisher in hopes I would review honestly. )

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 9, 2018

Review: Seventh Born

Seventh Born by Monica Sanz
The Witchling Academy Book 1
Published September 4, 2017 by Entangled: Teen
Reviewed by Jennifer L
4 Celestial Stars

Synopsis:

Abomination. Curse. Murderer. All names hurled at eighteen-year-old Seraphina Dovetail. As the seventh-born daughter to a witch, she's the cause of her mother losing her powers and, in turn, her life.

Abandoned as a child, Sera dreams of becoming an inspector and finding her family. To do that, she must be referred into the Advanced Studies Program at the Aetherium's Witchling Academy. Her birth order, quick temper, and tendency to set things on fire, however, have left her an outcast with failing marks…and just what Professor Nikolai Barrington is looking for.

The tall, brooding, yet exceedingly handsome young professor makes her a proposition: become his assistant and he'll give her the referral she needs. Sera is quickly thrust into a world where witches are being kidnapped, bodies are raised from the dead, and someone is burning seventhborns alive. As Sera and Barrington grow ever closer, she'll discover that some secrets are best left buried…and fire isn't the only thing that makes a witch burn.


Seventh Born (The Witchling Academy #1)Seventh Born by Monica Sanz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

To be honest I found this to be a slow read. The story was good, the characters were great, the world building exquisite but it took too long.

I like the story premise and you really feel for Seraphina. She has 1 friend, a well-off suitor and a quirky but brilliant young teacher how has taken an interest in her at least secretly.
All she wants to do is what almost no one in her station has done ... become an inspector.

Give it a try ... maybe the pacing was only an issue for me.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Spotlight & Review: Dead Girls Don't Sing



Dead Girls Don’t Sing
The Undead Space Initiative
Book Two
Casey Wyatt

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Time Travel

Publisher: Casey Wyatt

Date of Publication: 12/18/17

ISBN: 978-1979982078
ASIN: B07846RFWP

Number of pages: 338
Word Count: 93,000

Cover Artist: Kim Killion Designs

Tagline: Time will have its way

Book Description:

When former vampire stripper Cherry Cordial settled on Mars with her undead family, she thought she’d left her chaotic past behind her. After finding her mate and becoming the first vampire to give birth, she’s hoping to lead a drama-free life.

Naturally, the universe has a different plan. When mysterious undead space travelers arrive, an ancient Martian plague is released, infecting the undead. To find the cure she must return to Earth. All she needs to do is travel into the past, confront her own tangled history, and not break the space-time continuum. But if Cherry’s learned anything, it’s that her life is never that easy.

Amazon      BN      iBooks      Kobo      Books2Read

Excerpt:

Tiny pokers stabbed my eyes.
Another body, warm and hard, spooned against my backside.
Ian always felt so good, comforting and real.
His hand wrapped around my waist, cupping the underside of my breast. A cool sheet slid off my bare shoulder.
I was naked and in bed. A snippet of memory interrupted my appreciation of my husband’s hand.
Wasn’t I running from something . . .?
Fingers trailed along my spine, heading south. The touch was wrong, unfamiliar and rough.
Hold on. That wasn’t Ian. I shouldn’t feel the warmth of sun against my skin either. We lived on Mars, where it was colder than a witch’s tit.
If not Ian, then who was touching my inner thigh?
My eyelids snapped open like a shade on a spring. Bolting upright, I bared my fangs and grabbed the man’s wrist.
Oh, holy hell. I was in bed with another man. I rolled away and slammed into a different body. Shit, make that two other men. Two eye-poppingly gorgeous men.
Hey, I might be dead, but I’m not dead dead.
“Mistress? Have I displeased you?” said the man whose wrist I was about to shatter. Stunning blue-gray eyes. Dark stubble lined his chiseled jawline. His dark hair was mussed and complimented his swarthy skin tone. Dried blood smeared his neck. A red trail led to puncture marks.
The other man’s brown muscled chest rose and fell in rhythmic sleep. His body was fully exposed on the white sheet. Puncture marks lined his neck, his groin and his very erect penis.
My cheeks heated like a furnace. Clearly, we’d had a good time.
“No. Leave me. Both of you go to your rooms.” I dropped his wrist. The man woke his drowsing companion, and they left as I’d commanded.
Damn. I wished I could get the other men in my life to be so compliant.
Other men? There were other people important to me. Why couldn’t I remember them?
I’d kill Jonathan if he was messing with my mind again.
But yet... that idea didn’t feel right.
Somewhere in a dead corner of my memory, this moment seemed familiar. Jonathan, sensing my unhappiness with our “arrangement,” had spent the early years of our relationship attempting to please me.
This must have been my slut phase, where we’d bring home gorgeous men and I would feast and fuck while he watched. I enjoyed knowing it bothered him that I wouldn’t sleep with him. Only the mortals that we found in gaming dens, brothels, even at society events. The only other thing I would take from Jonathan besides his money was his blood, and only out of necessity.
Fucking hell. Ian’s go-to phrase—I remembered him now—helped resurface the reason why I was reliving this not-so-proud moment in my past.
The plague. The Lost Ship. The time stream. My daughter.
Oh, dear God. I hoped she was safe.
“Good morning, my pet.” Jonathan read a page of the morning newspaper while sipping tea from a dainty cup. He sat on the balcony situated outside my bedroom. From his vantage point, he could view the bed and my doings in Technicolor glory.
My heart lurched at the sight of his arrogant beauty. I had forgotten how full of life he’d been, especially in this time period. And, oh, how handsome he was. His raven hair glossy with blue highlights sparkled in the early morning sunshine. The strong line of his jaw and perfect Roman nose coupled with full lips made it hard not to stare at him. He hadn’t yet acquired the weariness that having a Family would place on him.
In later years, after much bitterness between us, I no longer saw him anymore. The beauty was tarnished, and we became as passionate as two coworkers passing the time until their shift ended. He had become someone I had to endure rather than enjoy. Not that I ever really “enjoyed” him because of the circumstances surrounding our sham marriage.
The horrid image of his death, when he’d knelt, offering Thalia his head, shattered the peaceful moment. With a plaintive look, he commanded that I accept his fate and mine. We both knew that Thalia, the dead queen’s heir apparent, was a vindictive bitch. She blamed me for her mother’s death and Jonathan refused to bow down to her. So, he did what he always did. He protected his Family by sacrificing himself so we could escape. In his last moments, regret had filled his eyes. The wish that we could have been different together had been silenced forever.
Seeing Jonathan again and remembering was worse than reopening a wound and rubbing salt in it with a lemon juice chaser. If only I could apologize to him for how awful I’d been. I hadn’t been blameless in wrecking our relationship. I could have tried harder to accept my fate instead of punishing him at every turn.
The temptation to blurt out the truth bubbled inside, until I had to force myself to look away from him. Would this Jonathan be willing to help me? Or would he use my current predicament to his advantage?
No. I couldn’t, wouldn’t chance it. Not with the entire colony’s lives hanging in the balance.
Would’ve, Could’ve, Should’ve. Sew it on a patch and you’d have my life’s motto.
Yup. Regrets sucked.
Jonathan placed the teacup down and smiled. “Did you enjoy yourself? You seemed a bit surprised when you awoke.”
Surprise didn’t cover how I felt. That word was too puny, too inadequate. After a few seconds, I found my voice again.
“Yes, we had a good time. Thank you.” It sure looked that way.
He acted like finding his wife in bed with other men was no big deal. It wasn’t like I would keep them. To him they were more like pets or meals with legs.

But now, with a century of wisdom tucked under my belt, instead of relishing in his annoyance, I realized something. He was sad. With himself or me, I wasn’t sure. And it didn’t matter. I had a mission to accomplish. A future to save.


Review by Jennifer


This was an interesting take on an Old genre and well told at that! In general I am not a fan of Space stories but I have it a try & was not sad I did!


Cherry is a dynamic character and as such helps make the well crafted world better. This was a well written dynamic story about Vampires and some other undead races in space! There was even some time traveling fun involved!



Give it a go!


About the Author:
Casey Wyatt grew up in a mid-size Connecticut town where nothing exciting ever happened. To stem the boredom, she read fantasy and sci-fi stories, imagining her own adventures in her head. Not much has changed since she’s grown up, only now she's a multi-published author of paranormal romance and urban fantasy novels. In her spare time, she loves all things geeky, hangs out in museums, and collects stray cats.

Visit Casey on the web: www.caseywyatt.com. You can also find Casey on Facebook and Twitter (@CaseyWyatt1).

To receive advance notice about new releases and special sales, subscribe to Casey's Newsletter at www.caseywyatt.com

Newsletter: https://goo.gl/9t7gxm





Twitter: @CaseyWyatt1




a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Review: Devil Take Me

Devil Take Me by Karilyn Bentley
Demon Huntress Book 4
Published January 22, 2018 by The Wild Rose Press
Reviewed by Jennifer
5 Demonic Stars!

Synopsis:

A demon attack…

Reeling from a personal tragedy and abandoned by all she loves, the world's newest demon huntress, Gin Crawford, sinks into a deep despair.
She’s forced back to reality by news of a large number of people committing suicide, all on the same night. Suspecting demon involvement, Gin must work with her sexy but estranged mentor Aidan Smythe to track who, or what, is behind the deaths.

Leads to a new discovery…

As they come closer to finding the culprit, they realize their employer, the Agency, is hiding its own secret, one which threatens Gin's very existence. New discoveries reveal that even those dedicated to eradicating evil can be bought. Can Gin and Smythe forgive each other and work together or will they fall under the demon's thrall?
 


Devil Take MeDevil Take Me by Karilyn Bentley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Good plot ... nice take on a popular topic. Characters are well defined and the World building is well done.

I look forward to other books!

I was offered the opportunity to read this as an Advanced reader copy and now I am writing my honest review.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Friday, January 26, 2018

Review: Under The Blood Moon

Under the Blood Moon by Tracie Provost
Under the Moon Book 1
Published January 31, 2018 by Bell Bridge Books
Reviewed by Jennifer
5 Celestial Stars!

Synopsis:

A supernatural war is brewing in New Orleans, threatening to expose the existence of vampires, werewolves, and Gatekeepers to the wider world . . .

Ritually staked and hidden for two hundred years, Juliette de Grammont, voodoo priestess and vampire, is found and revived. Just days after she is freed, still coping with a world she could never have imagined, she loses her sire and vampire coven in a fire. Confused and alone, Juliette seeks the help of the city’s powerful Grand Master, but dark elements within the city are conspiring to topple that regime. Soon Juliette’s struggle for survival places her in the middle of a supernatural war for control of the city.

Josh Bouchard, former Texas Ranger now vampire and coven lieutenant, is drawn into the conflict and appoints himself Juliette’s protector over her objections. They must enlist the help of both the city’s werewolf pack and the Gatekeepers—a shadowy group dedicated to keeping the paranormal world secret from humans—to forge a coalition to save New Orleans from the powers that seek to destroy it.

After traveling extensively with wanderlust struck parents, Tracie Provost settled down to small town life in rural Georgia. There she teaches history at a small university and writes to keep her cats in the luxury to which they have become accustomed.




My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I voluntarily read this book as an Advanced Reader Copy ... I am now providing you with my honest review of this book.

I have never read a book by Tracie Provost ... this book was offered to me in Kindle format as an Advanced Reader Copy ... intrigued by the description I gladly offered to read; and since I always review what I read here it is ...

I was caught from the beginning and continuously captivated as I continued to read. The world she builds in is familiar as a long time reader if paranormal fiction and lover of Anne Rice. Still she managed to craft a world that was both familiar and new at the same time.

I loved that Juliette was both a strong female character while retaining the docile nature of an 18th century woman. Despite her often docile nature, Juliette is a tour de force for sure and I look forward to experiencing mire with her and the rest of the Cast of Characters! I also came to very much enjoy many other characters ... Sophie, Josh, Beau ... even Gabe ... Marc is an interesting character and I have not decided where he falls on the like meter.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Friday, January 5, 2018

Review: Darkling

Darkling by Brooklyn Ray
Published January 8, 2018 by NineStar Press
Reviewed by Jen
5 MYSTICAL STARS!

Synopsis:

Port Lewis, a coastal town perched on the Washington cliffs, is surrounded by dense woods, and is home to quaint coffee shops, a movie theater, a few bars, two churches, the local college, and witches, of course.

Ryder is a witch with two secrets—one about his blood and the other about his heart. Keeping the secrets hasn’t been a problem, until a tarot reading with his best friend, Liam Montgomery, who happens to be one of his secrets, starts a chain of events that can’t be undone.

Dark magic runs through Ryder’s veins. The cards have prophesized a magical catastrophe that could shake the foundation of Ryder’s life, and a vicious partnership with the one person he doesn’t want to risk.

Magic and secrets both come at a cost, and Ryder must figure out what he’s willing to pay to become who he truly is.

CONTENT WARNINGS:

Blood-letting (consumption of blood)
Explicit Sexual Content
Death and Resurrection of an MC
Mild Gore (very mild)


Darkling

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. As a Wiccan, anything to do with magic catches my eye. Thankfully it did because I really enjoyed the read!

The writing was great. The only thing I had a hard time with was pronoun usage. But it becomes a bit clearer toward the end. More about gender identification. Once I wrapped my head around that, I was good!

Reviewed by Jen of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Review: Halloween Carnival Volume 3

Halloween Carnival Volume Three
Published October 17, 2017 by Hydra
Reviewed by Jennifer
5 Screaming Stars!!!

Synopsis:

Kelley Armstrong, Kate Maruyama, Michael McBride, Taylor Grant, and Greg Chapman unleash the unsettled spirits of the past in five frightening stories collected by celebrated editor, author, and horror guru Brian James Freeman.

THE WAY LOST by Kelley Armstrong
The kids in Franklin don’t ask questions. Each Halloween, one of them disappears into the forest. Dale promised his mother he’d never go into the woods alone. But the kids in Franklin also lie.

LA CALAVERA by Kate Maruyama
The Día de los Muertos Festival at the Hollywood Cemetery used to be ours. Now, without Jasmine, it’s only right that I go one last time in her honor—before I let her go for good. . . .

THE DEVIL’S DUE by Michael McBride
Pine Springs, Colorado, has prospered for generations by honoring its traditions and its promises. Then one man refuses to do his civic duty—and the price he must pay is fatally steep.

A THOUSAND ROOMS OF DARKNESS by Taylor Grant
Samhainophobia: an irrational fear of Halloween. Phasmophobia: an irrational fear of ghosts. For Anne, these terrors are more rational than she knows.

THE LAST NIGHT OF OCTOBER by Greg Chapman
Every year, one little boy wearing a grotesque Frankenstein mask comes knocking at Gerald’s door. Gerald has always managed to avoid him . . . until this year.

Halloween Carnival Volume 3

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Halloween Carnival, Vol. 3 ...

The Way Lost ... by Kelley Armstrong
That was an interesting short story with a wicked twist! Dale ... did you remember it right?

La Calavera ... by Kate Maruyama
At first you think this is going to go one way ... twist! Very SWF!

The Devil's Due ... by Michael McBride
Wow ... this was delightfully dark! It was well written and scary when you put yourself into the story. I liked that depending on your take it how you felt the ending would either be happy'ish or tragic.

A Thousand Rooms of Darkness by Taylor Grant
Holy Samhain! At first I was unsure about this story & if I would like it. I'm glad I kept reading! I love the Celtic twist at the end!

The Last Night of October by Greg Chapman ...
A Spooky well written Horror/suspense story ... no spoilers here! Want details ... read the book.

Reviewed by Jennifer of the GothicMoms Review Team

View all my reviews

From My Author Page...

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GothicMoms Updates